Type is associated with the user's Esri Access, which determines if they can only use ArcGIS Online, or if they can use the other Esri Platforms, like GeoNET.
- If it's set to ArcGIS Only, that user can only access ArcGIS Online.
- If it is set to both, they can access those other platforms (not to be confused with products).
Access is similar to a user's privacy settings.
- If it is set to Private, then their bio, etc. will not be available to others, and the username will not be searchable for other users.
- If it is set to Public, then everyone can search the user.
- If it is set to Org, then just those in the user's organization can search them.